Home > blogging for Britain, online marketing > Christmas stockings come early

Christmas stockings come early

On Monday of last week (2nd August) Selfridges opened their Christmas shop earlier than ever before – a full 145 days before the big day.  (FFS – I’ve only just got round to sending out the last of my thank you letters.)  In the process, they’ve beaten the virtually permafrost Harrods’ Christmas installation by almost a week.

I’ve not spotted the annual “Elf Yourself” Office Max contribution yet, which has spawned a thousand Jib-Jab clones and, more recently, flash mob events.

However, I did recently see this rather risqué Christmas microsite for Myla featuring spicy clips of models showing off the range of underwear for the 12 days of Christmas.  (Whether this is NSFW I guess depends on where you work.)  The © date indicates that this is from Christmas 2008, but it’s still up and still linking to live collections and I bet still pulling in the punters.  While the production values could be a little better, sex certainly sells… which is one of reasons for this post.  Basically I’ve been seeing a pattern that anything vaguely NSFW on the blog more than doubles traffic.  So I’ll report back in a week and we’ll see if my hunch is correct.  (Then next task will be to find what people are searching for to find these articles.)

In the meantime Myla’s window display that I pass daily is still focussed very much on summer swimwear, but I guess it’s only a matter of time…

  1. boingster
    August 16, 2010 at 9:15 am

    theory disproven… no massive hike in traffic

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

