Home > blogging for America > Hi, I’m Marge.

Hi, I’m Marge.

The guys have been pushing me to blog since…well…I’ve started with the agency.  Ed is absolutely in love with the “American girl in London” perspective.  I’ve continued to put it off for a two reasons: (1) I stream my thoughts on happenings in my personal and work life via Twitter anyway, and the thought of writing/thinking in over 140 characters is a bit foreign now. (2) Inaugural blog of thoughts by the new “intern” open to judgement by the public? Slightly intimidating.

Anyway, here goes.  Warning: Thoughts may be random.

I’ve been living in London for over a year now, and it’s ridiculously hard for me to believe.  Honestly, it seems like yesterday that I arrived from across the pond, with three suitcases to my name.  A year in University absolutely flew by, and over that time, I know I’ve gained more than two letters to tack on to the end of my name (MA –> Masters of Art, if you were wondering).  It’s been a slightly crazy ride, but I wouldn’t take back a second of it…

…And, guess what?  The learning journey continues…

After completing my postgraduate degree, the search for employment began. With a few offers in hand from various agencies and designers, the job decision seemed tough at first.  But, to be completely honest, the breakfast boys won me over with their awkward sense of humor and easy-going nature (oh, and LOADS of passion for their work that actually comes across in a non-cheesy way).  So, I happily and eagerly joined breakfast to inject some youth and estrogen into the agency, as well as a bit of social media know-how.  Little did I know I would gain a tiny extended family, who “lovingly” named me Marge.  A surrogate dad who made sure I had a cinnamon roll and hot cup of tea on my first day and also makes sure that I don’t talk to strange men on the tube, the goofy big brother than I never had, and two uncle-types with different yet equally fabulous senses of humour that keep me laughing all day long (steady, intelligent humour vs. dude/frat humour that gets slightly better with each beer).  I’ll let them guess who’s who…

Work at breakfast agency has been a MAJOR adjustment for this ex-fashion PR girl.  Not only did I go from working in an office of 35+ women to 4 guys, but the combination of being agency side and working with all UK, non-fashion brands has proved to be more than challenge. My first major projects involved Autoglass and Premiership Rugby…I mean, can we get further out of Marge’s comfort zone?  But, I must say immediately gaining Autoglass bragging rights made the transition slightly easier.  Check out Marketing for the week of 13 October 2010.  Quickly flip to Adwatch on page 25.  And, luckily, you don’t have to scan far down the page because WE’RE NUMBER ONE.  Feels good to be a champion.  Just sayin’.

…Scary standard for little Marge to be held to.  Keeping up with social media trends that change every second alongside learning the ins and outs of new clients and agency workstyle is absolutely dizzying, but I’m doing my best to keep up.  Progress reports here.  …Watch this space…

Categories: blogging for America
  1. Neil Chappell
    October 19, 2010 at 11:02 am

    I’m puzzled: your descriptions of your colleagues all sound too old to be me. I demand a rewrite before your Twitter feed reads this piece!

  2. boingster
    October 19, 2010 at 11:17 am

    flattered!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

