Home > Uncategorized > Arsenal-supporting clients…

Arsenal-supporting clients…

…look away now. Last night’s Champions League game between Barcelona and the Arse was the latest exhibition of almost perfect football from the diddy Catalans. Football has been a lifelong passion; when I was young, it was an obsession. And although time has naturally dimmed my enthusiasm a little, I found myself sitting in front of the TV and giggling like a schoolboy at the brilliance of Barca. My son, who is a schoolboy, was equally spellbound, and stated his desire to travel to the Camp Nou to watch Barca in the flesh. So that’s an October half-term break in the diary…

We are currently working with a new client. Two of the three people we deal with regularly are proper, dyed-in-the-wool Gooners. Since we have started working with them, they have suffered Arsenal’s recent Carling Cup catastrophe and now utter humiliation last night (it could have happened to anyone, but still…).

Every time we meet, talk turns to football, and I can’t help thinking that for all my attempts to appear magnanimous and mature, they suspect that as a huge Spurs fan, I’m laughing at their misfortune. Chaps, this post is an attempt to assure you that I am not. Last night’s match cheered me up hugely, but that’s because as I stagger into my fourth decade, anything that rekindles my adolescent enthusiasm and passion is welcome. And Barcelona’s football works every time.

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. edmundwill
    March 9, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    Harrumph.
    Lets see what happens tonight…

  2. Dye Woolled Gooner
    March 24, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    FOYS

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

