WTF?

Making good advertising isn’t easy. The moment when you see the first cut from the editor and realise that the spot you’ve grafted on for three months is a dud, not a D&AD, is horrible. For that reason, I am loth to criticise ads for simply being, in my humble opinion, terrible. It can happen to anyone.

Some ads can be bad and still work: I’ve made a few of those. Others can be good and fail dismally to do their job, i.e. sell stuff. I’ve made a few of those too.

Fortunately for me (if not my clients), the clunkers were TV commercials – bad in a way that would have made them invisible rather than fist-bitingly awful – and endured by the audience in the comfort of their own homes. I never had to observe the public’s reaction.

That is not the case for this – a commercial that actually made me put my hands to my head in the cinema yesterday, while a fellow audience member uttered an audible “What the fuck?”.

Maybe it seemed like a good idea at the script stage. Maybe you’ll watch it and love it.

Then again, maybe not.

 

 

  1. Kp
    November 13, 2017 at 8:48 pm

    Glaringly obvious. The writer or art director wanted a holiday in Bulgaria. Seen it all before.

  2. Kp
    November 13, 2017 at 8:52 pm

    Also…pan-European init. I’m as vehement an anti-Brexiteer as anyone—but not because of the quality of European advertising.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

